Friday, December 4, 2009

Retiring board members offer parting thoughts

If you didn't observe the last meeting where we said good bye to Bill Spitz, Joe Blasch and Frank Koziol, here is a great summary courtesy of The Advance:

Three members of the Neshaminy Board of School Directors stepped down from the job Tuesday night after serving a combined 16 years on the district's nine-member governing body. Retiring members Dr. William Spitz, Frank Kozoil and Joseph Blasch will be replaced by Republicans Scott Congdon, Mike Morris and Bill Oettinger, who will be sworn into office during a special reorganization meeting on Monday, Dec. 7.

Spitz personally thanked Superintendent Dr. Louis T. Muenker and his immediate predecessors. "All of them have successfully undertaken a very difficult job and I always found each of them willing to go above and beyond what was required." He also thanked past and current board members and the board's treasurer, Joseph Paradise. "I've learned a lot from each of you." And he particularly singled out board president Ritchie Webb "who has taken the extra step this past year to bring fairness, harmony and consensus to the board" and board member William O'Connor "who has been an inspiration to me for the professional and thoughtful way he contributed to the dialogue." He thanked the employees of the Neshaminy School District, calling them "honest, hard working people who care passionately about education."

In a final gesture of thanks, Superintendent Muenker announced the purchase and dedication of nine books in honor of the retiring board members. The books will be donated to the school district libraries and include some of the members' favorite titles.

"You will all be missed greatly and I hope you will come back and visit us and be a part of the community as always," said Webb.

You can read the entire article by clicking here.

No comments: